

Office of the President The University of Montana Missoula, MT 59812-3324

> Office: (406) 243-2311 FAX: (406) 243-2797

DATE: 13 June 2008

TO: Board of Regents

G. M. Dennison, President H. M. Wernis

RE:

FROM:

Campus Report for the July 2008 Board of Regents' Meeting

- Junior Political Science and Print Journalism major Lucas Hamilton received the first J. Stanley Kimmitt Public Service Internship recipient. Hamilton will serve in Washington, D.C., this summer as an intern for Montana Sen. Max Baucus on the Senate Finance Committee. The Kimmitt internship carries a \$1,500 stipend.
- Paleontologist and Geosciences professor **George Stanley** has earned the title of Research Associate from the Smithsonian Institution. The three-year honorary appointment recognizes Professor Stanley's professional status in the scientific community. Stanley joins 234 other scientists around the globe who have earned the recognition.
- Chemistry professor and oceanographer **Mike DeGrandpre** has received a \$980,000 grant from the National Oceanographic Partnership Program to help make his submersible water sensor—the Submersible Autonomous Moored Instrument for pH, or SAMI-pH—commercially viable.
- Kari Harris, an associate professor in the School of Public and Community Health Sciences, has accepted an invitation to serve with the NIH Center for Scientific Review, which evaluates grant applications from across the nation for scientific merit. She will work in the Risk, Prevention and Intervention for Addictions Study Section.
- Sixteen exceptional incoming UM freshmen will receive University of Montana Presidential Leadership Scholarships, recognizing outstanding talent, academic performance, leadership, and contribution to the community. Scholarship recipients automatically become members of the Davidson Honors College and receive a four-year tuition waiver plus an additional \$5,000 to \$7,500 per year. Montana's crop of 2008 Presidential Leadership Scholars are Eric Dunham and Charles Smillie of Billings; Kiandra Rajala of Clinton; KariLynn Dowling of Corvallis; Allyson Carroll of Ekalaka; Lucas Minnick of Havre; Jenny Gessaman of Highwood; Rebecca Pershouse and Kila Walser of Missoula; and Lindsey Appell of Roundup. Six Presidential Leadership Scholars will come to UM from other states and nations. They are Rebecca Temple of Homer, Alaska; Yuanyuan Bao of Shanghai, China; Michael Cole of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Kelsey Olson of Parker, Colo.; Erika Foster of Portland, Ore.; and Jayme Fraser of Cody, Wyo.
- University of Montana Athletic Training students Jessica Raden, Jordyn Kanning, Klare Matthew, Michelle Gardner, JesiAnn Sessions, Nick Efta, Junji Nagashima, Yuki Tashiro, Maddy Wiley, and Rachel School received the Best Student Effort Award for the National Athletic Trainers' Association public relations contest.

GMD/kc