College!NOW LogoMontana's Two-Year College Initiative

Developmental Education Reform Taskforce

This taskforce will focus on the following items:

  • Conduct baseline analysis of MT Developmental Education Programs
    • First-time freshman versus adult learner
    • Campus assessment/placement
    • Tracking of progression from one level to the next and on to college level course work
  • Utilize data from statewide ACT testing to inform planning and high school intervention opportunities
  • Analysis of existing national research and promising practices
  • Analysis of promising existing Montana developmental education reform efforts
  • Research prospective grant/external funding options to support reform efforts
  • Develop recommendations to be presented to BOR in May 2013
    • Consistent approach system-wide for providing developmental education
      • Creating consistency of faculty status of developmental education instructors
      • Creating consistency of oversight of developmental education courses/services to the two year campuses
    • Standardization for reporting developmental education success and student progression through college level course work via an annual report to the BOR
    • Recommendations to the BOR in May 2013 for reform based on local and national best practices and research

Taskforce Notes:

Taskforce Members:




John E. Cech Dep. Commissioner, 2-Year & Comm. College Education Montana University System
Mark Cracolice Faculty University of Montana
Bob Currie Director Montana Digital Academy
Doug Downs Faculty MSU-Bozeman
Leanne Frost Director, Development & Transfer Great Falls College MSU
David Hall College!NOW Program Coordinator Montana University System
Karen Henderson Faculty Helena College UM
Bob Hietala Dean Gallatin College MSU
Jim Hirstein Faculty University of Montana
Karin Janssen Common Course Numbering Manager Montana University System
Sue Jones Director, 2-Year Mission Integration Montana University System
Neil Moisey Deputy Commissioner of Academic, Research, & Student Affairs Montana University System
Tom Moore Assistant Superintendent Great Falls Public Schools
Sharon O'Hare Assistant Vice President for Student Success University of Montana
Dennis Parman Dep. Superintendent Office of Public Instruction
Heidi Pasek Associate Dean, 2-Year Great Falls College MSU
Sarah Pett Faculty Miles Community College
Richard Pierce Academic Department Chair City College at MSU Billings
Carole Pinnell Faculty Flathead Valley Community College
Anneliese Ripley Dean, Outreach & Research University of Montana Western
Amy Verlanic Director of 4-Year Technical Outreach Montana Tech

Printable List

Workgroups (no longer active):

Define and Get A Better Handle on College Readiness Heidi Pasek Karin Janssen
Assessment/Placement Models and Tools Doug Downs David Hall
How to Do Remedial Education: What Models Will Work for Montana? Course Design Leanne Frost Sue Jones
Standards Consistency Across the System, Acknowledging One Size Will Not Fit All Sharon O’Hare Karin Janssen
Non-Academic Student Support, Implementation, and Advising Anneliese Ripley Sue Jones