

## ASMSU 2025-R-08 Resolution in Support of the Transportation Fee Increase

Sponsor: Ben Wilson
Co-Sponsors: Lenny Triem

Chris Timboe Second Reading: March 6<sup>th</sup>, 2025

Vote Necessary: Majority

ASM50 Senate Speaker

First Reading:

Yes: 18 No: 0 Senators Present: 18

March 6<sup>th</sup>, 2025

**Intent:** The Associated Students of Montana State University (ASMSU) supports the proposed increase in the Transportation Fee for FY26 and FY27.

- Whereas, the need and utilization of public transit both on Montana State University's (MSU)
- 2 campus and Bozeman has a whole has increased in the past few years; and,
- Whereas, the Transportation Fee, formerly known as the Bus Fee, was establised by ASMSU to
- 4 help fund the operations of the Streamline bus route that heavily serves the student population,
- offering an alternative way to get to campus; and,
- Whereas, this fee has expanded to include the operations and management of the CatTracks
- 7 campus shuttle that serves to alleviate campus parking issues and has already served 15,929
- 8 campus rides, with an upwards trend in ridership numbers; and,
- 9 Whereas, the ASMSU Senate has expressed its support for a separate Transportation Demand
- Management Fee to support such a program in the resolution 2019-R-12, but postponed the
- ballot referendum on this issue in both 2019 and 2020; and,
- Whereas, the ASMSU Senate approved \$184,999, in 2025 to fund the operations of CatTracks
- in FY26 and 27, showing their continued support for this program; and,
- 14 **Whereas,** the operations of Streamline have been transferred to a Urban Transportation
- District (UTD), making it eligible for more federal funds and therefore will be needing less
- financial support for partners like ASMSU; now, therefore be it
- 17 **Resolved,** the ASMSU Senate supports an increase of \$2.10 in FY26 and \$2.15 in FY27 to the
- 18 Transportation Fee to continue to support Streamline at current levels and to support the
- continued operation and expansion of the CatTracks campus shuttle; and,
- 20 **Further Resolved,** submit this resolution to: Chair of the Montana University System Board of
- 21 Regents, Todd Buchanan; MSU Vice President of Administration & Finance, Terry Leist; MSU
- 22 Associate Vice President for University Budgets & Financial Services, Megan Lasso; Director of
- 23 Parking Services, Randy Crandall; Chief of University Police Department, Mike Stanley; and
- 24 ASMSU President, Jacob Zink.