January 18-19, 2001

NOTICE OF INTENT  Approval of Proposal to Establish a Department of Print Journalism within the School of Journalism; The University of Montana-Missoula


THAT: The Board of Regents of Higher Education authorizes The University of Montana-Missoula to establish a Department of Print Journalism within the School of Journalism.


EXPLANATION: In 1958, a Department of Radio-Television was created within the School of Journalism, distinguishing students majoring in the electronic news media from those majoring in traditional print areas. Although no formal print journalism department was recognized, the dean has served as chair of the print division. Over the past forty-two (42) years, the print division has grown, including more majors in the traditional areas and in a photojournalism option. Current figures show an increase in pre-journalism enrollment of 40 percent over 1998 figures, and most of these are in print. The number of students majoring in print journalism is now more than 225. In recent years, the duties of the dean have significantly increased, particularly in the area of extramural fund raising. The creation of a print journalism department will, in effect, formalize a distinction already in place; it will establish an organizational structure that defines the existing scope of the School of Journalism and accurately reflects its growth and needs. Moreover, the change in formal structure will allow the dean to appoint a chair of the print journalism department and to equitably distribute labor within the school. With both departments covering the range of print and broadcast media formally recognized, operations will be facilitated and the mission of the School of Journalism will be clearer to prospective students and to the general public.

The creation of a print journalism department will be followed by the appointment of a chairperson, in accordance with the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the University Teachers' Union and the Montana University System (Sections 16.200 ff.), with duties to parallel those of the chair of the Department of Radio-Television. Compensation and release time will be consistent with Section 13.510 for departments with fewer than nine members. Funds for the compensation will come from existing school resources.

The completed signature page resides on file at the President's Office, The University of Montana-Missoula.