One of the goals of the MUS Teaching Scholars program is to build collective commitment and communities of practice around high-quality teaching and learning throughout the Montana University System. To support this goal, a select group of non-tenure and tenure faculty apply and are chosen to be part of the annual Montana University System Teaching Scholars cohort. MUS Teaching Scholars are chosen for their demonstrated commitment to advancing high-quality teaching and learning for students as well as a commitment to building communities of practice around teaching. 

To focus the work of the program and build cohorts whose work will have cumulative impacts across the system, the MUS Teaching Scholars program focuses on an annual theme. Each year, the annual theme is developed in coordination with the MUS Teaching Scholars Advisory Council and is selected to support innovation in teaching, advance MUS strategic initiatives related to teaching and learning, and to respond to national conversations around teaching excellence in public higher education.