The University of Minnesota Dental Exchange Program is a cooperative agreement between the State of Montana and the University of Minnesota, which provides a limited number of openings in the Minnesota School of Dentistry for residents of Montana. Similar to the WICHE professional student exchange program, Montana pays a support fee to the University of Minnesota on behalf of each funded Montana student to cover a portion of the cost of education; funded students then pay a reduced tuition rate at the University of Minnesota (generally non- resident tuition less the state support).

Program consideration requires students to be certified as Montana residents based on the Montana Board of Regents residency policy, 940.1. Certification is on a yearly basis and is valid for a period of one year only. Applications for certification are accepted between July 1st and October 15th of the year prior to matriculation into dental school (one year in advance of matriculation).

If accepted by the University of Minnesota, students are ranked for the available state funding by the School of Dentistry. It is important to understand that funding in Montana is extremely limited and may not be sufficient to fund all students who successfully receive offers of admission. Support is limited to a maximum of four years.
Advanced programs, such as orthodontic training beyond the initial four years of dental school, are not covered.


Questions regarding state residency certification should be directed to:

Award Montana


Questions regarding application for admission to the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry should be directed to:

School of Dentistry
University of Minnesota
Moos Health Sciences Tower
515 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Student Admissions:
(612) 625-7477